
OWF Time Limits and Hardship Criteria
for

Ashland County

Section 5107.18 of the Revised Code limits participation in the Ohio Works
First (OWF) to 36 months. This section also provides that Ashland County
may exempt not more than 20% of the average monthly number of OWF
participants from the time limit due to hardship.

OWF State and Federal Laws Related to Time Limits

Am. Sub. H. B. 408 adopted time-limited assistance that is more limited than
the maximums allowed by federal law. Section 5107.18 of the Revised Code
makes an assistance group ineligible for OWF if an assistance group includes
an adult who has participated in OWF for 36 months, regardless of whether
those months were consecutive. Some months may be excluded from the
counting of the 36 months. Those exceptions are set forth in divisions (C)
and (D) of section 5107.18 of the Revised Code and in rule 5101:1-23-01 of
the Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.)

Under federal law, states are prohibited from using federal TANF funds to
provide assistance to a family that includes an adult who has received
assistance for more than five (5) years. As in state law, there are exceptions
based on hardship or if the family includes and individual who has been
battered or subject to extreme cruelty. The number of families receiving one
of these exemptions may not exceed 20% of the state’s average caseload. The
federal provisions are found at 45 C.F. R. section 264.1 as well as in the
preamble to the federal regulations at pages 17845 to 17858 of the April 12,
1999 Federal Register, Vol. 64, No. 69. 

Ashland County Hardship Criteria

The Ashland County Department of Jobs & Family Services (ACDJFS)  has
adopted the following criteria for granting a hardship exemption under



O.R.C. Section 5107.18.

If granted an exemption, the assistance group must continue to meet the
provisions of their self-sufficiency contract  while receiving further
assistance.

A review committee appointed by the ACDJFS director will determine
whether the hardship exemption will be granted for all applications.

ACDJFS, at its sole discretion, may provide extended benefits beyond the 36
month limit for assistance groups meeting at least one of the criteria  listed
below in descending order by priority.

1. Disabled Adults

A parent or caretaker with a serious physical/mental illness or
condition which prevents them from employment. The disability must
be verified by a physician and the individual must be pending SSI/SSA
benefits. The ACDJFS reserves the right to secure a second medical
opinion from a physician of its own choosing. 

2. Care of Disabled Family Member

Individuals whose  presence in the home is medically necessary to
provide care for a disabled immediate family member (child, spouse,
parent or sibling) living in the household. A physician’s statement on a
CDJFS approved form must verify the medical necessity. The ACDJFS
reserves the right to secure a second medical opinion from a physician
of its own choosing.

3. Domestic Violence

An parent or caretaker in an Assistance Group who is a victim of
domestic violence within the last six (6) months, which is verified by a
police report. The victim must be receiving help from local agencies



that provide services to domestic violence victims. These services must
be focused on overcoming  barriers that prevent the individual from
seeking and maintaining employment.

4. Child Protective Services

A parent or caretaker involved with Children’s Protective Services
through a protective service order of Juvenile Court. This is a
maximum exemption of six months or until their protective services
case plan is completed, whichever occurs first.

5. Pregnancy/Child Under 3 months

The parent or caretaker in an Assistance Group is medically verified to
be in the third trimester of pregnancy and is medically unable to work
or is caring for a child under the age of three months.The assistance
group exemption can be granted for a maximum of six months, or until
such time as the child turns three months of age, whichever is shorter.
The assistance group must be participating in a developmental activity
geared to prepare the individual for employment.

6. Education or Training

The parent or caretaker is enrolled and has completed at least ½ of an
education or training program directly related to employment, which
will be completed after the expiration of the 36-month limit.
Graduation and employment must be anticipated within 6 months of the
expiraton of the 36-month limit. The individual must be making
satisfactory progress, as reported by the school or training provider.
The individual must meet work participation requirements.

7. Barriers to Employment

The parent or caretaker has significant barriers to employment : 1) local



labor surplus,or 2) high unemployment (a rate greater than 10% for the
three months prior to the end of the 36 month limit, as reported by the
Ohio Bureau of Employment Services ), or 3) underemployment
(working and still eligible for a partial OWF check) or 4) lack of
transportation or child care for children under 6 years of age
(documentation of the lack of available child care providers must be
provided by the assistance group), or 5) has not been assigned to a
work activity in the last 12 months. This exemption applies to
individuals who do not meet any of the exemption criteria listed above.
This exemption will be granted for a period no longer than six months.

Those individuals granted hardship exemptions will be evaluated on a
monthly basis to determine if the exemption still exists. Individuals must be
willing to work with appropriate community organizations and programs to
overcome barriers to employment.

Once the ACDJFS is notified that it has met or exceeded eighteen percent
(18%) of the average monthly Ohio Works First caseload for hardship
exemptions, the ACDJFS  will review all Assistance Groups to assess
whether the hardship exemption should continue to be granted. Should the
ACDJFS reach the 20% limitation for granting hardship exemptions, priority
will be granted to those Assistance Groups granted a hardship exemption
under criteria #1& #2 above, then to those Assistance Groups which have
received the least total number of months of OWF assistance since October 1,
1997.

The Ashland County Department of Jobs and Family Services reserves the
right to amend this plan with at least 30 days prior notice to the public.

Date: _______________________

____________________________
R. Brooks Whitmore, Director
Ashland County Department of Jobs & Family Servicews



 


