
LICKING COUNTY
JOB AND FAMILY SERVICES

HARDSHIP EXEMPTION CRITERIA

OHIO 36 MONTH TIME LIMIT
Section 5107.18 of the Ohio Revised Code limits participation in Ohio Works First (OWF) to 36
months for families that include an adult head-of-household or spouse of the head-of-household, or a
pregnant minor head-of-household, minor parent head-of-household, or spouse of such head-of-
household.

FEDERAL 60 MONTH TIME LIMIT
In addition to the 36 month time limit imposed by Ohio Revised Code, federal law (45 C.F.R. Section
264.0) limits receipt of Ohio Works First (OWF) or Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) to 60 months.

20% EXEMPTION CRITERIA
Section 5107.18 of the Ohio Revised Code allows the County Department of Job and Family Services
(LCDJFS) to exempt up to 20% of the average monthly number of families receiving OWF during the
previous fiscal year on the grounds that termination of OWF would be a hardship for the family as
determined by the County’s hardship exemption criteria.

Federal law also permits states/counties to extend assistance paid for by federal TANF funds beyond
the federal sixty month limit for up to 20% of the average monthly number of families receiving
assistance.  Federal regulations provide that a state may extend assistance beyond the 60-month limit
based on hardship, as determined by the state.  Ohio has chosen to extend benefits beyond the federal
60-month limit due to hardship.

For federal hardship purposes, hardship is defined in paragraphs (H)(1)(a) to (H)(1)(b) of rule 5101:1-
23-01.  Essentially, paragraph (H)(1)(a) provides that hardship is defined as any circumstances under
which the CDJFS determines that the time limit is a hardship, and the CDJFS shall use the same
grounds for determining federal hardship as it uses for determining the OWF 36 month hardship.

LICKING COUNTY’S HARDSHIP EXEMPTION CRITERIA
Assistance groups who have reached the 36-month or 60-month time limit for participation in the OWF
program may be exempted from the time limit if all criteria in Section A are met along with one or more
of the hardship criteria in Section B.  This exemption is also contingent upon Licking County having
available exemption slots.  Section C addresses process for application and approval of a hardship
exemption.  Section D addresses length of hardship exemption and process and frequency of reviews. 
Section E addresses additional participation requirements for OWF assistance groups approved for
hardship exemption.



SECTION A (Assistance Group must meet all criteria in this section.)

1. The total gross unearned income and/or net earned income after tax deductions of the OWF
assistance group does not exceed the OWF grant in OAC Section 5101:1-23-20 for the
appropriate household size.

2. The total available resources (as defined in Food Stamp Manual Section 5101:4-4-01) of the
OWF assistance group does not exceed $2,000.

3. OWF assistance group has not been under a first occurrence sanction during the three months
prior to reaching the 36-month time limit.

4. OWF assistance group has not been under a second or third occurrence sanction during the
twelve months prior to reaching the 36-month time limit

5. There has not been an intentional job loss by any required OWF assistance group member
within the six months prior to reaching the 36-month time limit

6. OWF assistance group members must be willing to sign appropriate releases of information to
allow LDJFS to share information with all parties named in the self-sufficiency contract and
plan, including but not limited to, medical providers, educational institutions, work sites and
other social service agencies.

7. If substance abuse is indicated, assistance group member must cooperate with substance abuse
assessment process and with any treatment plan recommended.

SECTION B (The OWF adult or minor head-of-household, subject to time limits must meet
one or more of the criteria listed below as well as the conditions established for said
exemption criteria.)

1. Single custodial parent who is medically certified to be pregnant in the third trimester with
complications verified by the doctor or is caring for a  newborn child under two months of age -
exemption may be extended if parent has not been released by a physician to return to work

2. Provides care for a severely disabled family member
# Disability must be documented by a physician on ODJFS 7302 Basic Medical or

ODJFS 7308 Mental Functional Capacity Assessment as well as a statement from the
physician that 24-hour care is needed.

# No other care is available (30 days will be given to seek care and documentation must
be provided.)

# Must apply for Medicaid waiver as an option for care



3. Caretaker relative over 60 years old
# Must be working on a plan for self-sufficiency with Experience Works or other

appropriate provider

4. Physical Disability
# Must have current (within last 60 days) Basic Medical stating unemployable 9 months

or more
# Must be actively pursuing SSI or RSDI and working with LCDJFS SSI Case Manager
# Must be assigned and cooperating with appropriate program/provider such as

Licking/Knox Goodwill

5. Mental Health Disability
# Must have current (within last 60 days) Mental Functional Capacity Assessment stating

unemployable 9 months or more
# Must be actively pursuing SSI or RSDI and working with SSI Case Manager
# Must be assigned and cooperating with Moundbuilders Guidance Center Vocational

Transitions Program or other structured program
# Must be receiving regular counseling
# Must be complying with treatment

6. Underemployed
# Must still meet financial eligibility
# Must meet definition of employment
# Employment must be at least minimum wage
# Employment plus additional assignment must equal 40 hours per week

7. Active Children’s Services Case
# Must have written recommendation from Children’s Services Worker to continue

benefits
# All additional extensions must also be recommended by Children’s Services Worker
# Complying with Children Services plan

8. Homeless
# Must meet HUD definition of homelessness - Sleeping in places not meant for human

habitation (cars, parks, sidewalks, abandoned buildings, etc.); Sleeping in emergency
shelters; Living in transitional or permanent supportive housing for the homeless (but
who originally came from streets or emergency shelters); Evicted within the week from
private dwelling units (court-ordered eviction) and have no subsequent residence
identified and lack of resources to obtain housing; or Discharged within the week from
institutions in which they have been residents for more than 30 days and have no
subsequent residence identified and lack of resources to obtain housing.

NOTE: Persons who are at risk of homelessness (living doubled-up or behind in 



rent or mortgage payments) do not meet the definition of homeless persons

# Must be referred to and cooperating with the Licking County Coalition for Housing or
other appropriate provider

# Additional extensions will be evaluated based on reports and recommendations of the
Licking County Coalition for Housing or other appropriate provider

9. Domestic Violence (Child or Adult)
# Must be documented (Police Report, Emergency Room, Domestic Violence Shelter,

etc.)
# Must be current occurrence (last 6 months)
# Must be attending counseling

10. Enrolled in Educational Program
# Has not previously completed a degree program (Associate, Bachelor, or Master)
# Has not previously completed a certificate program 
# Must be scheduled to complete within 6 month period
# Must maintain satisfactory progress and provide copies of all schedules and grades so

that we may monitor
# Must be a full-time student as defined by school of attendance
# Must be enrolled in an Educational program and be verified of completion within 6

months 

11. LEAP eligible - Under 20 with no high school diploma or GED
# Total assignment per individual, including school hours, must be 30 hours per week

(school hours will be supplemented with an additional assignment such as life skills
class, work experience, etc. based on self-sufficiency plan)

SECTION C

As OWF assistance groups approach the 36-month time limit, CRISE the state computer system, is
generating notices to inform the household of the number of months remaining on OWF.  In addition,
the Licking County Department of Job and Family Services will generate a manual notice prior to the
end of the 36-month period notifying the household of the date their OWF benefits will end and of the
process to apply for an exemption.  An appointment will be scheduled with a Workforce Development
Counselor and/or an Eligibility Referral Specialist to conduct a self-sufficiency progress review to
determine if eligibility for an exemption exists and also if any additional services or referrals are needed
to assist with self-sufficiency.  At this time, additional participation requirements associated with the
extension of benefits will be discussed. All services offered, either refused or accepted, must be
documented for future reference.  Assistance groups will be asked to sign a waiver if they have refused
services offered.  All recommendations for approval or denial of a hardship exemption will be reviewed



by a Workforce Development Supervisor and an Eligibility Referral Supervisor.

Assistance groups will be notified in writing of their eligibility or their denial for an exemption
.

SECTION D (Hardship exemptions granted are subject to the time limits and reviews
specified below.)

Hardship exemptions will be granted for a time period to address the barrier established but in no more
than three month increments.  An OWF assistance group’s hardship exemption will be reviewed every
three months to determine if the assistance group continues to meet the exemption criteria, or sooner if
the Agency becomes aware of changes that may affect the assistance group’s eligibility for hardship
exemption.  It will also be the responsibility of the assistance group to report any changes during the
three month period that might affect continued eligibility.

After a hardship exemption is granted, there will be monthly progress summary with a Workforce
Development Counselor and/or an eligibility Referral Specialist to evaluate progress and identify
additional services needed.  

If, at any time, the assistance group fails, without good cause, to meet the requirements of the self-
sufficiency contract and plan during the exemption period, the time remaining under their hardship
exemption will be forfeited and their OWF case closed.

Pursuant to ORC 5107.18, the Licking County Department of Job and Family Services is limited to the
total number of exemption slots.  Therefore, the County and the Licking County Department of Job and
Family Services reserves the right to limit exemptions, reduce the time an exemption has been granted,
or modify the hardship program in order to maintain compliance with State regulations governing the
number of allowable exemptions.

SECTION E (Assistance groups granted a hardship exemption will be subject to the following
additional participation requirements to enable them to reach self-sufficiency prior to the expiration of
the hardship exemption.)

1. Single parent households, with the exception of LEAP households will be assigned 40 hours per
week.  Paid employment at minimum wage or higher will be considered toward the 40-hour
requirement.



2. In the case of two parent households, both parents must participate and combined hours must
total 60 hours per week.  Each adult must participate a minimum of 20 hours per week as a
part of the 60-hour requirement.  A part of the monthly review will include a progress summary
completed by each parent.
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