Ohio Electronic Child Care (Ohio ECC) Provider Informational Session

Questions and Answers
Tuesday, November 8, 2011 1:00-2:30pm

Q. We have buses taking children to daycare. | was told that the parents can back swipe every 3 weeks, however the
reason they are on vouchers is because the parents need to work and there is no way that they can keep taking off of
work?

A. The caretaker or designee can come to the program at any time and complete a previous check in or previous check
out for these times. A previous check in or previous check out can be recorded during the back swipe period for care
received during the back swipe period, the current week plus the two previous weeks, using the point of service (POS)
device and the swipe card. It is recommended that caretakers don’t wait until the end of the back swipe period to
record all missing transactions for the entire period. Providers can establish business practices outlining how often the
caretaker must come to the program to complete swipe card transactions for times when their card was not used but
the child was in care.

Q. Amlresponsible to keep track of times in and out if the caretaker does not have the swipe card until the end of
the day?

A. The caretaker will need to know the times to key into the POS device when completing a previous check in or
previous check out. The provider can keep a record of these times if they wish.

Q. We were told that on the exception report only the PIN numbers appear. How do we know which family missed a
swipe without names appearing on the report?

A. The exception report does not include the personal identification number (PIN). The PIN number is the 4 digit
number the caretaker uses with the POS device. Providers can log into the provider website (PWeb) to view the
unmatched check in/out report. This report lists the names of the children with the swipe card activity for each child.
The exception report can be printed from the POS device and does include the first initial and last name of the child.

Q. Is the caretaker able to receive as many cards as she needs for various people picking up or dropping off?
A. The primary caretaker on each case is issued two cards. The remaining caretakers are issued one card.

When do we get paid for absence day, when they are entered or not until they are settled?

> o

Absent days are paid when the week in which the absent day occurred is settled.

Can the POS device be wall mounted?

> o

A wall mount is available but must be purchased by the provider.

Q. Are we permitted to charge enroliment fees, activities fees, etc.?
A. Providers determine their own business charges. These fees are no longer paid by ODJFS per a rule change effective
July 29, 2011.

Q. What is the penalty for giving a card to the provider?
A. The caretaker could lose their benefits. The provider could have their provider agreement terminated and as a
result, no longer receive payment for serving children in publicly funded child care.



Q. How soon does it take once this is started for providers to start receiving the funds?

A. For providers who will begin using Ohio ECC on January 1, 2012, the back swipe period ends on Saturday, January 21
for the service week of January 1 to January 7, 2012. All services for 1/1/12-1/7/12 must be entered into the system,
including absent days reported by the provider, by 1/21/12 to be processed by the system. Payment for the week of
1/1/12-1/7/12 will be deposited within 5-7 business days from Monday, January 23, 2012.

Q. Do the reports track the total amount of hours that each child is attending, each day each week?
A. Weekly attendance hours can be viewed on the PWeb Child Payment Detail Information screen.

Q. | currently have children authorized by more than one county. Is this process for Ohio ECC the same for both or do
| separate the counties?

A. The process is the same for all providers and caretakers in Ohio, regardless of what county authorizes the child to
the provider. All information transmitted using the POS device will populate the Ohio ECC system which will be utilized
by all county workers within Ohio.

Q. Is this procedure for only children in publicly funded child care or is it going to be used for children services in the
various counties?

A. The Ohio ECC system is specific to children in publicly funded child care and is not currently used by children services
workers.

Q. When will the caretakers receive their swipe cards?
A. Swipe cards will be mailed to caretakers in December 2011.

Q. Currently, preschoolers who turn five during a school year are automatically reclassified as school-agers, even
though they do not actually start kindergarten until September. Manually, we are still able to bill them at the
preschooler rate.

A. The Ohio ECC system will calculate the payment for a specific child based on their date of birth and rule
requirements.

Q. Will the automated system be adjusted to avoid reclassifying preschoolers until September?
A. Ohio ECC will calculate a child's age from preschool to school age based the date and indicator of Y and school age in
the EA system entered by the county worker.

Q. How do | print this slideshow from this webinar?

A. The power point presentation can be printed from the CCIDS web site http://www.jfs.ohio.gov/cdc/childcare.stm
Additionally, the presentation was emailed to all providers using the email address that was entered into the CCIDS
Provider Portal.

Q. Sometimes a caretaker gets approved but will they have the card for attendance or do we back date it?

A. Authorization information can be viewed on the PWeb. If a caretaker does not have their card, the provider can
confirm if the child is authorized to their program using the PWeb. If authorization information cannot be found, then
the caretaker should contact the county. If the child is authorized to your program, the caretaker can use the back
swipe option to record attendance after they receive their swipe card. The previous check ins/outs must be completed
during the back swipe period for the payment to be processed for the provider.



Q. How does the ODJFS keep track of co-pay payments? Will check-in/out be denied if co-pay has not been
received?

A. Itis the provider’s responsibility to monitor and track co-payments. A check in/out will not be denied by the system
because co-pay payments are not tracked within the system.

Q. When does this system take effect or do | have to "backtrack" the attendance dates prior to 1/1/2012?

A. All providers in counties not in the pilot will begin using Ohio ECC on January 1, 2012. All services provided beginning
January 1, 2012 forward will be tracked using Ohio ECC. Continue to send invoices to the county in the same way you
are now for any services provided before January 1, 2012.



