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Fairfield County Job & Family Services 
Hardship Exemption Criteria 

Revised September 2004 
 
 
 
 

OWF State and Federal Laws Related to Time Limits 
 

Section 5107.18 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) limits participation in Ohio 
Works First (OWF) to 36 months for families that include any adult or minor 
head-of-household.  Participation months may or may not be consecutive.   
There may be some months that are excluded from the 36-month count.  Those 
exceptions are set forth in divisions (c) and (d) of section 5107.18 of the ORC 
and in rule 5101:1-23-01 of the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC).  In addition to 
the 36-month time limit, federal law (45 C.F.R. Section 264.1) limits receipt of 
OWF or TANF benefits to 5 years.   
 
 

20% Exemption Criteria 
 

Section 5107.18 of the ORC allows the County Department of Job and Family 
Services to exempt up to 20% of the average monthly number of families 
receiving OWF from the time limit on the grounds that they determine the time 
limit is a hardship.  The determination of hardship criteria is a county 
determination.  Any participant granted an exemption beyond 36 months 
continues to use months counting toward the 5-year federal time limit. 
 

 
Fairfield County’s Hardship Criteria 

 
Assistance groups who have reached the 36 month time limit for participation 
in the OWF program may be exempted from the time limit if all the criteria in 
Section A are met, along with one or more of the hardship criteria in Section B.  
Section C explains the review process.  Section D addresses the procedure for 
ongoing review after the initial Hardship Exemption has been granted.  Section 
E identifies how OWF assistance groups that transfer in from other counties or 
states will be treated.  Section F addresses how households will be informed of 
the exemption criteria.   

 
 



 2 

 
 
Section A 
Assistance Group must meet all criteria in this section. 
 

1. The total gross income of the family group, excluding earned income 
of children under age 19, does not exceed the Initial Eligibility 
Standard in ORC Section 5107.10 for the appropriate household size.  
The family group is defined as natural children, adoptive children, 
half-siblings and step-siblings, parents and step-parents. 

 
2. The total available resources (as defined in the Food Stamp Manual 

Section 5101:4-4-01) of the OWF assistance group does not exceed 
$2000.  Liquid resources are those resources that are in cash or 
readily convertible to cash on demand.  Common examples of liquid 
resources are cash on hand, savings accounts, checking accounts, 
stocks, bonds and mutual funds.  In addition, the monthly income is 
not enough to meet the monthly living expenses without causing 
undue hardship.   

 
3. OWF assistance group members who are required to cooperate with 

the Child Support Enforcement Agency (CSEA) are now cooperating 
with the CSEA and have not been sanctioned for failure to cooperate, 
without good cause, in the preceding 6 months prior to written 
request for a hardship exemption. 

 
4. OWF assistance group has not been under a first occurrence sanction 

during the 6 months prior to written request for a hardship 
exemption. 

 
5. OWF assistance group has not been under a second or third 

occurrence sanction during the 12 months prior to written request for 
a hardship exemption. 

 
6. There has not been a voluntary job quit or reduction of hours of 

work, without good cause, by any required OWF assistance group 
member within the 6 months prior to written request for a hardship 
exemption. 
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Section B 
The OWF adult or minor head-of-household, including both parents in a 
two parent household, who are subject to time limits, must meet one or 
more of the criteria listed below as well as the conditions established for 
said exemption criteria at the time they reach the 36-month time limit 
in order to qualify for a hardship exemption. 
 
1. Single custodial parent who is medically certified to be pregnant in the 
 third trimester with complications verified by the doctor or is caring for 
 a newborn child under two months of age – exemption may be extended 
 if parent has not been released by a physician to return to work. 
2. Physical Disability 

 Must have current Basic Medical (within last 60 days) stating 
unemployable nine months or more; 

 Must have applied for SSI six months prior to exhaustion of OWF 
cash benefits and is actively awaiting SSI determination, and 
complying with the appeals process as necessary; 

 Must be keeping all medical appointments and complying with the 
treatments recommended by physician; 

 Must be working with the Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation 
(BVR) if applicable 

3. Mental Health Disability 
 Must have current Mental Functioning Capacity Assessment (within 

last 60 days) stating unemployable nine months or more 
 Must have applied for SSI six months prior to exhaustion of OWF 

cash benefits and is actively awaiting SSI determination, and 
complying with the appeals process as necessary  

 Must be working with BVR if applicable 
 Must be receiving regular counseling 
 Must be complying with treatment 

4. Provides care for a severely disabled family member 
 Disability must be documented by a physician on Basic Medical or 

Mental Functioning Capacity Assessment, as well as a statement 
from the physician that 24 hour care is needed 

 No other care is available.  Thirty days will be given to seek care 
and documentation must be provided 

 Must apply for Medicaid waiver as an option for care 
 If condition is expected to last twelve months or longer, the 

caretaker must pursue SSI eligibility and comply with appeals 
process as necessary.  Caretaker must be keeping all medical 
and/or counseling appointments and complying with the 
treatments recommended by physician or mental health provider  

5. Caretaker relative over 60 years old. 
6. Individual actively involved with the PCSA and cooperating with case 
 plan identifying significant barriers to self-sufficiency. 

 Exemption period will not exceed 6 months (ORC Section 5107.10) 
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 If reunification does occur, eligibility for another exemption must 
be evaluated within 30 days 

 If parent/caretaker fails to cooperate with the PCSA case plan, 
exemption eligibility will be lost 

7. Homelessness 
 Must meet HUD definition of homelessness  

i. Sleeping in places not meant for human habitation 
ii. Sleeping in an emergency shelter 
iii. Living in transitional or permanent supportive housing for 

the homeless (but who originally came from streets or 
emergency shelters) 

iv. Evicted (court-ordered) within the week from private 
dwelling unit with no subsequent residence identified and 
lack of resources to obtain housing 

v. Discharged within the week from an institution in which the 
individual has been a resident for more than 30 days, with 
no subsequent residence identified and lack of resources to 
obtain housing 

8. Individual who has experienced domestic violence, battering, or who has 
 been subject to extreme cruelty as defined by 45 C.F.R. Section 264.1 
 and is involved in the legal process regarding said incidents. 

 Verification must be provided by appropriate documentation (i.e. 
police report, ER visit, Lighthouse) 

 Incident must have occurred within past 6 months 
 Verification that individual is actively involved with counseling 

9. Individual enrolled in an educational or training program directly related 
 to obtaining employment  

 Must not have previously completed a degree program beyond 
high school or its equivalent 

 Must be currently enrolled full-time and maintaining satisfactory 
progress as defined by the educational institution 

 Must have documentation verifying completion of program within 
6 months 

10.   Minor head-of-household enrolled and maintaining satisfactory 
 progress, as defined by the educational institution, in high school or GED 
 classes.  
 
 

Section C 
Making the Decision 
 
Each assistance group who wishes to reapply for OWF after being terminated 
based on reaching the time limit will need to contact the Fairfield County Job 
and Family Services office.  The Success Coach, with the applicant, will 
complete the Hardship Exemption Review Form, Request for Hardship 
Exemption Form, and Request for Cash, Medical, and Food Stamp Assistance 
form (7200).  Once all paperwork is complete, the Success Coach will contact 
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the supervisor to schedule a Hardship Exemption Review.  This review will 
occur within ten business days of the request.  The Review Panel will consist of 
the Community Services Director, or designee; two supervisors, and the SC/ERS 
for the assistance group.  The Review Panel will make a final decision within 3 
business days.  The SC/ERS will contact the applicant with the decision of the 
review and a letter will be sent.   
 
 
 
Section D 
Hardship exemptions granted are subject to the time limits and reviews 
specified below. 
 
All approved Hardship Exemptions will be granted for a time period to address 
the barrier established but in no more than three month increments unless 
indicated otherwise by decision of the panel.  It will be the responsibility of 
the assistance group to report any changes during the three month period that 
might affect continued eligibility.   
 
After a hardship exemption is granted, there will be monthly progress summary 
with a Success Coach and/or an Eligibility Referral Specialist to evaluate 
progress and identify additional services needed. 
 
If, at any time, the assistance group fails, without good cause, to meet the 
requirements of the self-sufficiency contract and plan during the exemption 
period, the time remaining under their hardship exemption will be forfeited 
and their OWF case closed.   
 
Section E 
Transfer-in cases from other counties or states 
 
All OWF assistance groups that transfer to Fairfield County, from other counties 
or states, will have their hardship exemption determined by the criteria in 
Section A, B and C, and exemption status will no longer be determined by the 
previous county or state criteria. 
 
 
Section F 
Informing households of exemption criteria 
 
Success Coaches working with customers with less than 12 months of remaining 
eligibility will intensify efforts to help the family meet their responsibility to 
become self-sufficient before the time limit is reached.  Families will be 
reminded that although there are many services FCJFS can offer as supports, 
they are ultimately responsible for their own well-being and self-sufficiency.  
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