How Can ODJFS Help Me With Child
Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) licenses Ohio Early Learning and
Development programs and helps caretakers who are working or in school pay for
child care through the Publicly Funded Child Care (PFCC) program. To obtain additional information on eligibility
for publicly funded child care, please click here.
ODJFS licensed programs are defined
by Ohio Law as "child day care": Administering to the needs of
children outside of school hours by persons other than their caretakers on a less than twenty four hour basis. Some types of child care must
be regulated in Ohio; other types of child care may operate without a license*.
Licensed programs are inspected
prior to and after receiving a license and must verify compliance with state and federal
requirements. In addition, programs will also be investigated in response to
complaints received through ODJFS.
can search the ODJFS Search For Early Learning and Development Programs
page for care by county, city, zip code, program type, quality, and self-reported
program specific information. The license
child care center and Type A Home programs within the search provide program
information, licensure details, and ODJFS inspection results. Information
for Type B Homes can be obtained through your local County Department of Job
and Family Services (CDJFS).
What Types of Child Care Are Right
searching for a child care provider, it is important to understand the different
types of care available so the provider can meet you and your child’s need. ODJFS licenses the following types of Early
Learning and Development programs: child care centers, Type A Homes, and a Type
B Homes. Care can also include school age programs and
day camps. The types of care are listed below:
Child Care Centers -13
or more children at one time, 7 to 12 children if not in a personal residence.
Type A Homes -7
to 12 children (or 4 to 12 children if 4 children are under 2 years of age)
cared for in the provider’s home. The provider's own children under 6 years of
age must be included in the total count.
Type B homes serving children
through the publicly funded child care program -1
to 6 children cared for in the provider's personal home. No more than three
children may be under the age of two. The provider's own children under six
years of age must be included in the total count. Type B Homes are only licensed
by ODJFS if they serve, or intend to serve, children through the publicly
funded child care program. Please note: anyone
can operate a Type B Home without a license.
day camps -
A program which cares for only school age children and operates for less than
seven hours each day during the time school is not in session, and the program
operates at least 50% outdoors. Child day camps must register with ODJFS each
year. To receive reimbursement for publicly funded child care, the child day
camp must be accredited by the American Camping Association (ACA) and submit
the certificate annually with the day camp registration.
What Are the Benefits of a Licensed
program can provide a caretaker and child with regulated, quality care through state
and federal requirements monitored by ODJFS for compliance. This can include health and safety, staff Professional
Development training, CPR and First Aid, background checks, and additional monitoring
inspections, as needed. In addition, children
can receive additional early learning supports through the participation of licensed
programs in Ohio’s 5-star Quality Rating and Improvement System, Step Up To
Up To Quality recognizes learning and development programs that exceed
licensing health and safety standards, family and community engagement, health
promotion, staff professional development, and child development standards.
unlicensed program is a program that is not monitored by any entity and is not
required to meet any standards of safety, health, staffing, or early learning.
This can include*:
- care provided in a child's own home;
- programs which operate two weeks or less a year;
- programs where parents remain on the premises (unless
at the parent's employment site);
- specialized training in specific subjects, such as art,
drama, dance, swimming, etc.;
- programs which operate one day a week for no more than
When Searching for Child Care, What
Steps Should Be Taken?
- Use the Search
for Early Learning and Development Programs page on the ODJFS website to
search for a program that interests you.
- Visit the
program to review:
Licensing Inspection reports; licensed child care providers must post their license in a conspicuous place where caretakers can see it. They must also post copies of inspection reports for caretaker's review.
Early Learning and Development Curriculum
Step Up To Quality Rating
the programs with additional questions or concerns.
Is ODJFS the Only Agency With
Licensed Child Care?
Ohio Department of Education (ODE)
Centers - In Ohio, the Department of Education licenses early care and
education programs, such as preschool and school age programs operated by
public and private chartered schools.
Information About Quality Child Care:
Care Resources and Referral Agency
Association for the Education of Young Children has a voluntary accreditation program for child care
centers who wish to meet quality standards that go above and beyond basic
licensing requirements. See individual center listings for more details.
Ohio Head Start Association,
Inc Head Start is a federally funded comprehensive early childhood
program that promotes school readiness by enhancing the social and cognitive
development of children through the provision of educational, health,
nutritional, social and other services to enrolled children and families. Visit
www.ohsai.org for more information and a
listing of Ohio’s Head Start programs.
National Association for Family Child
has a voluntary accreditation program for type B family day care homes. Visit
their web site for more information about their organization and its services
to family day care providers.