
 

PROVIDER SCHOOL-AGE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Federal and Ohio laws do not permit the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) 
to pay for child care services provided to a school age child during the regular school day. When 
the Ohio Electronic Child Care (ECC) system went live in 2010, and up until this system change, 
there was no ability to automatically deduct time when a school age child was in school. This 
required caretakers to back swipe the time out when a child left for school and back in when a 
child returned to the program from school.  The School Age system change, effective January 3, 
2016, reduces the burden on the caretaker to back swipe and on the provider to monitor the 
caretaker back swipes and ensures that the hours are accurately captured in Ohio ECC.   

ODJFS did a great deal of research and analysis and developed a statewide standardized school 
schedule to be deducted from a child’s swipes.  Children are determined eligible for a category 
of authorization based on the needed hours of care of their caretakers.  Providers are paid by 
category of payment which mirror the child’s category of authorization (hourly, part time, full 
time and full time plus), but reflect actual hours swiped. ODJFS research shows that the variation 
of hours on either the start time or end time of the school day typically does not change the 
payment category. The ODJFS research shows that the average school day is six hours and 
thirty-six minutes.  ODJFS has simplified this to six hours per day to lessen the effect on the 
payment category.  

Defined Terminology 

School child Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) rule 5101:2-16-01(S): “School child” 
means a child who is enrolled in and attending a grade of kindergarten or 
above or who is of compulsory school age as defined in section 3321.01 of 
the Ohio Revised Code, but is less than eighteen years old. 

 

School year OAC rule 5101:2-16-41(G) (1): the school year is defined as the first Sunday 
in September through the last Saturday in May.  

 

Standardized 
school schedule 
deduction 

The hours for a standard full day of school will be 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. 
(Monday through Friday).  Any care provided or swiped for during this time 
period in the defined school year will not be paid. 

Kindergarten 
schedule 
deductions  

 KA – 9:00 a.m. – 11:15 p.m. (Monday through Friday) 

 KP – 12:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. (Monday through Friday) 

 KD - Full Day Kindergarten - 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. (Monday through 
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Friday) 

Category of 
authorization 

OAC rule 5101:2-16-30(M): What is the Category of authorization? 

(1) The county agency shall determine eligibility for publicly funded 
child care (PFCC) benefits and shall authorize child care for 
periods that are reasonably related to the caretaker's hours of 
employment, education or training.  
 

(2)      Authorizations shall be made for one of the following categories:  
(a)      Hourly, which is less than 7.0 hours per week.  
(b)      Part-time weekly which is 7.0 to less than 25.0 hours per week. 
(c)      Full-time weekly, which is 25.0 to 60.0 hours per week.  
(d)      Full-time weekly plus, for hours greater than 60.0 as 
determined by the county agency.  

Category of 
payment 

Category of payment is the amount a provider is paid for the provision of 
PFCC services. The category of payment is based on the hours of care 
actually provided which may be less than the hours authorized. Example: if a 
child with a full time weekly authorization is in the provider’s care for more 
than 7 hours, but fewer than 25 hours, the provider would be paid at a part-
time rate. 

Current ODJFS 
adjustment 

Adjustments can be requested on Ohio ECC payments when an error has 
resulted in the provider not being paid the correct category of payment. 

Important Reminders 

Deductions will be taken for the hours that include 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m., Monday through 
Friday, during the school year. This is for children in full day kindergarten and grades above.   

Deductions will be taken for the hours of 9:00 a.m. – 11:45 a.m., Monday through Friday, during 
the school year for children in morning kindergarten. Deductions will be taken for the hours of 
12:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, during the school year for children in afternoon 
kindergarten. 

Each day of care must have a swipe in and a swipe out. 

The standardized definition of school hours is based upon the state average and is not specific to 
school times in each school district. Based on data gathered, the average length of the full-day 
school day is six hours and thirty-six minutes. In order to lessen the effect on the payment 
category, the ODJFS simplified the standard deduction to six hours per day as defined above. 

Provider Concern Response Adjustment 
Allowed? 

What about school age 
children who are in care 
during the defined 
period of standardized 

Federal and Ohio laws do not permit ODJFS 
to pay for child care services provided to a 
school age child during the regular school 

No 
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school hours due to 
various reasons: 

•The school age child is 
homeschooled by 
parents   

•The school age child is 
suspended or expelled 

•The school age child is 
sick 

•The school age child 
has a disability/special 
needs 

•The school age child is 
enrolled in online 
education 

•The school age child is 
enrolled in a non-district 
school with different 
hours 

This list does not 
include all possible 
circumstances but the 
answer is the same. 

 

day.  

If a care is provided to a school age child 
during school year defined in Rule 5101:2-
16-41(G) (1) the statewide standardized 
school schedule will be deducted. 

 

The caretaker fails to 
complete, or uses the 
incorrect time on a back 
swipe. 

 

The most efficient way to correct this is for 
the provider to delete all swipes for that day 
(using the Point of Service device or the 
Provider web) and for the caretaker to 
complete the correct in and out swipes 
needed for the day. 

If the caregiver makes an error and swipes in 
with incorrect information (i.e.: wrong time), 
and it is not corrected in the back swipe 
period, current policies should be applied 
(adjustments can be requested timely). 
Providers are responsible for managing their 
business records. 

Yes, according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard. If this is a 
swipe error an 
adjustment would 
need to be requested 
in a timely manner. 

 



 

  
  

 Pg. 4 
February 2016 

Schedule Concerns 

Kindergarten says full 
day but the child is in a 
half day 

This is either a county agency error or a 
caretaker error, not a provider error. No 
matter why/how the error occurred a 
corrective action must be completed by 
the county worker. Caretaker must 
contact county worker and inform county 
worker of schedule  
The county worker must be contacted by 
the caretaker and a correction must be 
made to AECIC to indicate KA or KP.  
 

Yes, according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard practice. 
 

Kindergarten is every 
other day in my district 

Kindergarten is every other day or some 
other schedule not indicated or the 
Kindergarten school age child is in an 
alternating day/week Kindergarten schedule. 
 If the county worker authorizes KD for 

this school year, then it will likely create 
more underpayment adjustments for the 
provider.  

 If the county worker authorizes half day 
Kindergarten for this school year, then it 
will likely create more overpayment 
adjustments to the provider. 

 
The county worker will need to determine 
which authorization works best based upon 
the actual alternating Kindergarten schedule 
and the hours of care needed by the 
caretaker. 
 
Providers should inform the family to speak 
to the county worker and get it corrected in 
the system 
County workers can work with help desk 
with specific information relating to 
kindergarten schedule. 
 
  

Yes, according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard practice. 
 

School age child goes to 
a year round school 

The school age child is in a year round 
schedule and has four 4-week breaks that 
occur when school hours are being deducted. 
The school age child is in a year round 
program and ECC says that school begins in 
September and ends in May.  When do I get 
summer rates? 

 The statewide standardized schedule 

Yes, if school is not in 
session for a week 
during the school 
year, the provider can 
submit an adjustment 
according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard. 
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deduction will occur during the 
school year. The school year is 
defined is rule 5101:2-16-41 as the 
first Sunday in September through the 
last Saturday in May. Time spent in 
school instruction outside of the 
defined school year should be 
accounted for by the caretaker 
completing four swipes (swipe into 
care, swipe out to school, swipe back 
into care, swipe out of care at end of 
day) for those days of care.   

 

The standardized school 
schedule will result in 
my business not being 
paid properly or will 
increase my efforts 
related to completion of 
a payment adjustment.  
 
1. This doesn’t match 

the school district in 
which the provider 
offers care and it 
results in the 
provider being paid 
at a lower category 
of care. Can 
adjustments be 
requested? 

2. The school district 
in which the 
provider offers care 
ends before the 
school end date in 
ECC (child is out of 
school, but ECC is 
still deducting bell 
times). Can 
adjustments be 
requested when all 
day care begins? 

3. The school district 
in which the 
provider offers care 
ends after the school 

The times defined in the definitions section 
of this document will be applied to all school 
age children receiving publicly funded child 
care (PFCC). The standardized definition of 
school hours is based upon the state average 
and is not specific to school times in the 
school district where the provider gives care. 

Providers are paid by category of payment.  
If a school age child receives 10 hours or 24 
hours, the provider is still paid at a Part Time 
rate. The statewide standardized schedule 
deduction will be applied.    

School end dates are different 

Caretakers will need to conduct four swipes 
after or before the last Saturday in May (until 
child is out of school) each school year. 

School begin dates are different 

Caretakers will need to conduct four swipes 
before or after the first Saturday in 
September each school year as applicable 

While there will need to be some record 
keeping effort on the part of school age 
providers, adjustments will only be needed 
when the authorization category supports the 
category of payment change.  

 

Yes, if it changes the 
category of payment, 
according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard practice.  
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end date in ECC 
(child is still in 
school, but ECC has 
stopped deducting 
bell times).    

4. The school district 
in which the 
provider offers care 
begins after the 
school begin date in 
ECC (child is not in 
school yet, but ECC 
has started 
deducting bell 
times).   

5. The school district 
in which the 
provider offers care 
begins before the 
school begin date in 
ECC (child has 
started school, but 
ECC has not started 
deducting bell 
times).    

Other Potential Questions 

Why is ODJFS making 
this change to 
automate? 

ODJFS is following federal and state laws. 
This enhancement has been in the planning 
stages for over two years. 

N/A 

What if providers are 
not being paid for the 
actual service that is 
provided for the school 
age child? 

 

The help desk can assist providers that have 
this concern. This will be an effort on the 
part of the provider to determine the current 
payment category, the time paid and the 
difference in hours to determine if the 
payment category would be impacted. If the 
payment category is impacted the provider 
will be required to complete and submit to 
the county agency a JFS 01292 “Publicly 
Funded Child Care Request for Ohio ECC 
Payment Adjustment”  

Adjustments must be filed within seven 
weeks of the service given in order to be 

If the category of 
payment changes due 
to the statewide 
standardized school 
schedule, the provider 
may submit an 
adjustment for 
services. 
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considered for payment. 

What happens with 
snow days, holidays, 
late starts, closed early, 
in service days (school 
closed), or scheduled 
half days of school? 

The statewide standardized school schedule 
will be applied. If the snow day results in a 
category of payment change the provider 
would complete and submit to the county 
agency a JFS 01292 “Publicly Funded Child 
Care Request for Ohio ECC Payment 
Adjustment”. In section II ‘Reason for 
Request’ Choose Swipe error in the 
‘Describe the reason for this request’ section 
the provider should indicate:  Inclement 
weather (bad weather, snow day, holiday, 
late start, early release etc.) caused school to 
be delayed (cancelled or applicable schedule 
change), standardized school deduction 
reduced hours and an adjustment is needed. 

Yes, providers may 
submit an adjustment, 
according to the 
current ODJFS 
standard practice if 
the category of 
payment changes.   

How will providers 
know if system change 
will affect their 
payment? 

Review payment records and determine 
whether or not the category of payment 
changes.  The Help Desk will assist if 
necessary.  The provider will determine the 
impact. 

N/A 

What if the provider is 
being paid a lot less 
than they were before 
January 3, 2016? 

Providers can review the payment records. 
All caretakers should have been conducting 
four swipes per day to deduct the time that 
the school age child was in school.  Providers 
should not have been paid for care when a 
school age child was in school or was 
supposed to be in school. This may be the 
impact. 

N/A 
 

Possible Swiping Examples 

Please Note: If the category of payment a provider receives changes due to the statewide 
standardized school schedule deductions, the provider may submit a JFS 01292 “Publicly 
Funded Child Care Request for Ohio ECC Payment Adjustment” in accordance with the current 
ODJFS standard practice requirements. 

1. A school age child arrives at the provider at 6:00 a.m. and leaves for school at 8:30 a.m. 
Mom picks child up at 11:00 a.m. from school for a doctor appointment.  Mom returns child 
to school at 1:00 p.m. and picks child up from the provider at 6:00 p.m. 

Resolution: The caretaker should swipe the child in at 6:00 a.m. and swipe the child out at 6:00 
p.m.  The statewide standardized school deduction will be applied.  There must be a swipe In and 
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a swipe Out for each day of care given. 

2. A caretaker works from 2:30 p.m. to 12:00 midnight. The school age child attends care with 
the provider after school. What time does the caretaker back swipe for the child’s care with 
the provider? 

Resolution: The caretaker should back swipe the child into care recording the time the child 
arrived at the provider after school.  The statewide standardized school deduction will be applied. 
There must be a swipe In and a swipe Out for each day of care given. 

3. What should the swipes look like if a school age child gets dropped off at school at 10:30 
a.m. and arrives at the provider after school, the caretaker picks the child up from the 
provider at 5:30 p.m.? 

Resolution: The caretaker should back swipe the child into care recording the time the child 
arrived at the provider after school.  The statewide standardized school deduction will be applied.  
There must be a swipe In and a swipe Out for each day of care given. 

Possible Swiping Examples:  After School Only 

Please Note: If the category of payment a provider receives changes due to the statewide 
standardized school schedule deductions, the provider may submit a JFS 01292 “Publicly 
Funded Child Care Request for Ohio ECC Payment Adjustment” in accordance with the current 
ODJFS standard practice requirements. 

1. A caretaker drops the school age child off at school.  The provider picks the school age child 
up from school at 2:00 p.m. and cares for the child until the caretaker picks the child up at 
6:00 p.m. 

Resolution: The caretaker should back swipe the child into care recording the time the provider 
picked the child up from school.  The statewide standardized school deduction will be applied.  
There must be a swipe In and a swipe Out for each day of care given. 

2. A caretaker drops their school age child off at school.  The school age child gets dropped off 
at the providers from the school bus at 4:00 p.m. The caretaker picks the school age child up 
at 6:00 p.m. 

Resolution: The caretaker should back swipe the child into care recording the time the child 
arrived at the provider after school.  The statewide standardize school deduction will not be 
applied.  There must be a swipe In and a swipe Out for each day of care given. 

3. The caretaker drops their school age child off at the provider at 3:30 p.m. and picks the 
school age child up at 6:00 p.m. 

Resolution: The caretaker should swipe the child into care recording the time the child arrived at 
the provider.  The statewide standardized school deduction will not be applied because the 
arrival time was after 3:00 p.m.  There must be a swipe In and a swipe Out for each day of care 
given. 

 


