
 

 
Ohio Department of Job & Family Services (ODJFS) 

Bureau of Child Care Policy & Operational Support 
 

Provider Technical Assistance Letter 5 

Publicly Funded Child Care Request for Payment After Denial 

During Eligibility Determination and Publicly Funded Child Care 

Services Eligibility After the Loss of a Qualifying Activity 

September 12, 2014 

Updated January 8, 2016 

 
 

Background 

Amended Substitute House Bill (H.B.) 483 of the 130
th 

General Assembly was signed into law 

on June 16, 2014, making the new law effective September 14, 2014. H.B. 483 allows payment 

to child care providers who submit a completed JFS 01211 “Request for Payment of Publicly 

Funded Child Care Services Provided for a Denial of Application” when a caretaker submits a 

completed publicly funded child care (PFCC) application but is denied benefits.  As a result, 

child care providers may be eligible to receive payment for all child care services provided by 

them, from the date of initial PFCC application submission through five calendar days past the 

date of the county agency’s denial of PFCC benefits. A caretaker may only utilize the payment 

after denial benefit one-time in a rolling 12 month period. 

 
H.B. 483 also allows a caretaker to continue to receive (PFCC) services for up to 13 weeks after 

the loss of a qualifying activity.  The 13 week continuation period cannot go beyond the end of 

the current eligibility period. The reason for the loss of the qualifying activity includes, but is not 

limited to: 1.) a caretaker being laid-off,  2.) a caretaker being fired, 3.) a caretaker quitting their 

employment, 4.) a caretaker sanctioned from Ohio Works First (OWF) or Food Assistance (FA) 

activity, 5.) a caretaker stops attending school or an institute of higher education, or 6.) a 

caretaker is on extended medical or maternity leave. A caretaker may only utilize the 13 week 

continuation one-time in a rolling 12 month period. 

 
 

Actions- PFCC Child Care Request for Payment During Eligibility Determination 
The provider will not be eligible to receive payments for care provided during the application 
determination if: 

• The child care provider(s) chosen by the applicant does not have a valid Provider  

 Agreement with the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS). 

• The PFCC application was denied as incomplete, due to missing one or more of the 

required elements detailed in Ohio Administrative Code, rule 5101:2-15-35.1(A). 

• The PFCC application is denied because the child(ren) is(are) not age eligible.  
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• It was determined that the denied PFCC applicant was previously denied PFCC benefits 

within the last twelve months, and a child care provider received payments for the 

applicant’s child(ren) during that eligibility determination process. 

a.   To determine if another child care provider has already received payments for the 

eligibility determination process, the provider can call our Business Unit Help 

Desk at 1-877-302-2347, Option 1. 

 
Provider requests for payment will be denied if any of the following reasons apply: 

• The child care provider did not submit the JFS 01211, “Request for Payment of Publicly 

Funded Child Care Services Provided for a Denial of Application” to the county agency 

within seven weeks from the date the PFCC application was denied. 

• The child care provider did not include the attendance documentation required by the 

licensing regulations along with their completed JFS 01211. 

 
How will child care providers know that the caretaker has been denied? 

 
Upon the denial of a PFCC application, the county agency will: 

• Review the PFCC application to determine if the applicant’s chosen provider(s) is 

potentially eligible for a payment during the eligibility determination period. 

• Effective with system enhancements released  6/13/15, if the application identifies 

a chosen provider and that provider has a current provider agreement with the 

state, that provider will receive a system generated denial notice once the 

application is processed and denied in the system. 

o Note:  the JFS 01211 Form will not be included with the provider 

notice (see below). 

 
How will child care providers make the request for payment following the denial? 

 

 

Providers shall obtain a copy of the “Request for Payment of Publicly Funded Child 

Care Services Provided for a Denial of Application” JFS 01211 form from ‘Forms 

Central” on the State website at www.odjfs.state.oh.us/forms/inter.asp and 

“Search/Sort by” Form Number, entering 01211 in the “Search For” box. The 

completed JFS 01211, along with the provider’s licensing regulation required 

attendance records, must be submitted to the county agency for review. 

 
How long will providers have to complete the JFS 01211? 

 
The completed JFS 01211, along with the provider’s licensing regulation required 

attendance records, must be submitted to the county agency within seven weeks of the 

application denial notice issuance date in order to be considered for payment. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.odjfs.state.oh.us/forms/inter.asp


Pg. 3 
January 2016 

 
 
 
 

What is the payment request review process once the county agency receives a JFS 01211 

and attendance documentation from a provider? 

 
Within thirty calendar days of receiving a completed request, the county agency shall 

review the details of the payment request in order to determine if it meets the payment 

guidelines. 

• If the county agency determines the provider is not eligible for payment, or the 

payment request details include one of the reasons for denial, the county agency 

shall indicate that the request has been denied on page 2 of the JFS 01211, and 

return a copy of the form to the provider. 

• If the county agency determines the provider is eligible for payment, and the 

payment request details do not include any of the reasons for denial, the county 

agency shall calculate the payment amount for the child care services provided 

each service week from the date of the application submission through five 

calendar days after the completed application denial date and submit the request 

and documentation to ODJFS for payment processing. 

 
How will providers receive payment if the payment request has been approved by the 

county agency? 

 
Once the payment request has been approved and submitted to ODJFS, the payment will 

be created in the Centralized Payments system. Once the payment has been issued, the 

provider can view the payment on the Provider Portal Payment Report. 

 
Actions- PFCC Services Eligibility After the Loss of a Qualifying Activity 
If the caretaker does not report the loss of the qualifying activity within 10 days as required, the 
13 weeks are still calculated beginning with the first day after the qualifying activity ended.   

Any PFCC payments exceeding the 13 weeks of care following the loss would need to be 

recovered as an improper payment. 
 

When is a copayment recalculated? 
 

The copayment shall be recalculated for any reason listed in paragraph (B) of 5101:2- 

16-39 of the Ohio Administrative Code and as part of the annual redetermination, 

reinstatement of eligibility, or continuation of eligibility due to the loss of a qualifying 

activity.  Any change to the copayment made at the time of the redetermination, 

extension of eligibility due to loss of qualifying activity, or reinstatement shall be 

effective from the first day of the new corresponding eligibility period.  Copayments may 

increase at the time of redetermination, reinstatement approval, and the addition of an 

activity after a continuation for loss of activity pursuant to rule 5101:2-16-30 of the Ohio 

Administrative Code. 

 
How will the rolling 12 months be calculated? 

 
Caretakers may only receive one continuation in a 12 month period.  The rolling 12 

months begins on the day the qualifying activity ends. 
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Will a caretaker’s child enrolled in a Federally Funded Head Start program be eligible for 

the 13 week continuation? 
 

A caretaker’s child (under school age) enrolled in a Federally Funded Head Start 

Partnership program would have PFCC eligibility extended through the end of the Head 

Start program year as long as all requirements of rule 5101: 2-16-30 of the Ohio 

Administrative Code are maintained.  If the eligibility end date for the 13-week 

continuation crosses over into a new Head Start program year, the child would be eligible 

for PFCC benefits through the end of the new program year. 
 

Are there hearing rights once the 13 week continuation period has expired? 
 

Yes, a “Right to State Hearing” notice will be mailed to the caretaker, primary contact 

and provider when the qualifying activity is lost, and again 15 days prior to the 13 week 

continuation period end date so as to not allow eligibility/authorizations to exceed 91 

days. 

 

If you have questions regarding this letter, please contact the provider CCIDS Business 

Unit with any questions at CCIDS_Business_Unit@jfs.ohio.gov or call 1-877-302-

2347, option 1. 
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PROVIDER NOTICE OF CARETAKER DENIAL 

FOR PUBLICLY FUNDED CHILD CARE (PFCC) SERVICES 
 

Provider Name Provider ID Number 
 

Child(ren) ID Number 

Provider Street Address 
 
 

Case Number 
 

City, State, Zip Code County Mailing Date 
 

 

____________________________ submitted an application for PFCC on ________________.  

The county agency has determined that the caretaker is not eligible for child care service. The 

application was denied on __________________.  

 

You are eligible to request payment for any care you provided for this caretaker’s child(ren) 

during the eligibility determination period.  Pursuant to rule 5101:2-16-35 of the Administrative 

Code, a child may be eligible for child care services for the period of time between the date the 

county agency receives the application and the date of denial plus five days, not to exceed a full-

time authorization.  Please complete the JFS 01211, “Request for Payment of Publicly Funded 

Child Care Services Provided for a Denial of Application” for each child you provide services 

for and submit to the county agency within seven weeks from the date of denial.  The county 

agency will review your request and make a determination for payment. 

 
You are not eligible to request payment for child care services provided during the eligibility 

determination period because the application was denied for the following: 

 
 Child(ren) are not age eligible. 

 Application submitted by caretaker was not complete. *Failing to select a provider 

constitutes an incomplete application.* 

 You did not have a valid provider agreement during the eligibility determination period.  

 The caretaker has received paid PFCC services for a denied application in the previous 12 

months.  

 

Caseworker 
 
 

County Agency Telephone Number 
 
(          ) 
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YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO AN APPEAL IF YOU ARE UNABLE TO BILL FOR  

CHILD CARE SERVICES PROVIDED  

 

If the above section indicates you are not eligible to request payment because the application was 

denied for being incomplete or due to lack of a provider agreement, you may appeal within 

fifteen days from the date of denial according to Ohio Administrative Code 5101:2-16-44(L).  

 

Requesting an appeal:  Submit a request for an appeal for child care services not eligible for 

payment by completing the JFS 01205, “Provider Appeal For Services Not Eligible for 

Payment”, along with all supporting documentation to: 

 
   CCIDS_Business_Unit@jfs.ohio.gov 
    
     OR    
 
   Office of Family Assistance 

Bureau of Child Care Operational Supports 
   ATTN: Payment Appeal Request 
   P.O. Box 183204 
   Columbus, Ohio 43218-3204 
 
 

 
 



 
 

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 
Publicly Funded Child Care Application Guideline 

Provider Desk Aid 
 

Applicant Name: ____________________________________   County:______________Caseworker:_______________ 

1) When was the JFS 1138 or both the JFS 01121 and JFS 01122 Submitted?                       
2) How/where was the application submitted?                             3) How many people live with you?  

 Names of child(ren) needing care:
  

Child's DOB Days/hours child(ren) need care: 

   
   
   
   
   

3) Are you or another caretaker employed?    Y or N    4) Are you or another caretaker enrolled in school?    Y or N 

Where:                                                                 Where:  

Schedule:                                                                  Schedule:  

5) Do you or another caretaker have an assigned work activity (for cash or food assistance?)    Y or N    

Where:                             Schedule:   

6) What is your gross monthly income? (earned and unearned income)  $  

7) Is the household under 130% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines? (Use the chart below)   Y or N 

Gross Monthly Income Chart (updated 10/1/16) 

Family Size Initial Eligibility Family Size Initial Eligibility 
2 $1,736 5 $3,081 
3 $2,184 6 $3,530 
4 $2,633 7 $3,980 

8) Have you been approved or denied for child care in the past twelve months?  Y or N     When:  

Application Notes:  

 

 

 

 

 

Applications may be submitted to the county agency via fax, mail or in person. 


