
 

 

 
Ohio Department of Job & Family Services  

Bureau of Child Care Policy & Technical Assistance 
 

 Provider Technical Assistance Letter 13-2015 
Serious Risk Non-Compliance Reductions and Removal Matrix  

for Step Up To Quality Type B Home Providers 
May 18, 2015 

 
Background 
Serious Risk Non-compliances (SRNC) for child care Type B Home providers are outlined in 
Appendix C in rule 5101:2-17-02 of the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC). In order for a 
program to be considered for a Step Up To Quality (SUTQ) star rating, the child care program 
shall not have been cited for a six point SRNC or have non-compliances that total twelve points 
within the previous twelve months prior to the registration date and between the registration date 
and the awarded star rating.  
 
Once rated, if a program has a non-compliance that is a six point SRNC or accumulates twelve 
points over twelve months, the SUTQ rating may be impacted.  
 
Actions 
The attached matrix is utilized to ensure consistent consequences for programs that have a six 
point SRNC or non-compliances that total twelve points. The Ohio Department of Job and 
Family Services will continue to monitor the impact to programs due to the SRNC citations and 
the appropriateness and outcomes of this process for future consideration.  



 
 

Reduction and Removal Matrix for Step Up To Quality (SUTQ) for Type B Home Providers 
OAC rule 5101:2-17-04(E) 

This matrix is a guideline to establish consistent consequences for a program who is cited for a serious risk non-
compliance (SRNC).  Factors taken into consideration include, but are not limited to: 
• The intent of the person responsible for 

the action. 
• The age of the child and their 

dependency on an adult. 
• If the incident was self-reported. 
• If the program has similar licensing 

violations in the past. 

• The length of time over which a child’s safety was at risk. 
• Whether or not this is a re-occurring incident. 
• The location of the incident and the additional risk resulting from that 

location. 
• What corrective action was taken to ensure safety of children would not 

be compromised again. 

If the program receives a: Then: 

              Warning 

No Action will be taken to reduce or remove the star rating; however, six 
SRNC points will be documented and count towards the 12 month total. 
Any warning may result in a stricter penalty based on the scope and 
severity of the incident. 

 Rating Reduction The program must wait 6 months before registering for a change of rating, 
or if reduced to a zero, 6 months before they can register to be rated. 

 Rating Removal The program must wait 12 months before they can register to be rated. 

For any 6 point SRNC citation listed below, the program will have a tiered penalty rating reduction: 

Rule number and 6-point SRNC 1st citation        2nd  citation 3rd citation 

03 Refuses Access to County Agency or ODJFS Rating 
Removal   

03 Provider Falsifies Information to County Agency or  ODJFS Rating 
removal   

07 

Background Check 
• Employee or person in the home with a prohibitive 

conviction remains employed and doesn’t have 
rehabilitation paperwork on file and cannot prove if 
rehabilitation standards are met at the time of the 
inspection. Also, proof of rehabilitation was not 
submitted by deadline required in the corrective 
action plan. 
 

Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
Removal  

• Administrator, employee or member of household 
refused to be fingerprinted 

Rating 
Removal   

12 

Safe Environment -Firearms on Premises 
 

• If the firearm was accessible to children 
 

Rating 
Removal   
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• Extenuating circumstances:  Incidents in which a child 
brings a gun to Type B Home and puts it someplace 
that the program would not be required to check 
(example brings it in a book bag and hangs bag in 
cubby). 
 

Warning To be 
discussed  

14 

Transportation 
• Child left unattended on a fieldtrip  
• Child left unattended in a vehicle off-site 

 

Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
Removal  

• Child left unattended in a vehicle on-site Warning Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
Removal 

 
• Driver without valid license (this does NOT include just 

an expired license) 
• Driver who is not an employee, emergency caregiver 

and provider not present 
 

 
Warning 
 

 
Reduce by 2 
stars 
 

 Rating 
Removal 

15 

Medication 
• Medication error, given to the wrong child 

Warning Rating 
removal  

• Medication error, child given the wrong amount Warning Rating 
removal  

20 

Supervision 
• Child unattended outside on-site but in a contained, 

“safe” area  
Warning Reduce by 1 

star 
Rating 
Removal 

• Child left unattended outside in an unsafe area or 
during a swimming activity 

Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
Removal  

Care & Nurturing 
• Program fails to report suspected 

abuse/neglect/endangerment 

Rating 
Removal    

Child Guidance & Management 
• Physical abuse/neglect/ endangerment substantiated 

Public Children Services Agency (PCSA) finding 
• Involvement of provider in inappropriate discipline 

Rating 
Removal   

23 

Swimming 
• Staff not actively supervising Warning 

 
Reduce by 2 
stars 

 
Rating 
Removal 

• No lifeguard 
• Swimming site accessible to child without staff 

supervision 

Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
removal  

24 
Evening and Overnight Care 

• Children are asleep in unapproved areas for sleeping  
in the Type B Home 

Warning Reduce by 2 
stars 

Rating 
removal 
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Accumulation of Points in Twelve Month Period 

12-14 Points 

15-17 Points 

Reduce by 1 star 

Reduce by 2 stars 

18 or more points Rating removal  

Additional Factors 

A program’s star rating may be removed if: 

• Death or serious injury occurs to the child due to the licensing rule violation 


