Home
Ohio.gov
Search

Menu
Job & Family Services Early Learning and Development
In order to best protect confidential and other important data, the ODJFS website will no longer support several outdated web browsers. Effective December 5, Internet Explorer 6 or older, Opera 4 or older and Netscape Navigator will no longer work on ODJFS sites that are https-enabled. Individuals can download the most recent version of Internet Explorer here and the most recent version of Opera here.
Topics
In order to best protect confidential and other important data, the ODJFS website will no longer support several outdated web browsers. Effective December 5, Internet Explorer 6 or older, Opera 4 or older and Netscape Navigator will no longer work on ODJFS sites that are https-enabled. Individuals can download the most recent version of Internet Explorer here and the most recent version of Opera here.

training_pageheader  

The following trainings are currently available for completion in the Ohio Professional Registry (OPR) https://registry.occrra.org/.   

Please contact the Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association (OCCRRA) staff at 1-877-547-6978, option 1 with any questions on how to create a profile or register for a training.  

Child Care Center Orientation Training  

This ODJFS created staff orientation training provides information on child care licensing rules for new child care staff members. The training must be completed within 30 days of starting employment at the center as a child care staff member. This is the only training that can be taken to meet the center requirements for completion of the staff orientation. The training covers the following topics: active supervision; emergencies and evacuations; classroom routines and responsibilities; child abuse reporting and child management techniques; medication policies; communicable disease policies; field/routine trip safety; parent information; and licensing rules and laws. 

Family Child Care Home Orientation Training for Child Care Staff Members  

This ODJFS created staff orientation training provides information on child care licensing rules for new child care staff members. The training must be completed within 30 days of starting employment at a family child care as a child care staff member. This is the only training that can be taken to meet the family child care requirements for completion of the staff orientation. The training covers the following topics: active supervision of children; emergencies and evacuations; routines and responsibilities; child abuse reporting and child management techniques; medication policies; communicable disease policies; field/routine trip safety; parent information; and licensing rules and laws.   

Pre-Camp and Staff Orientation Training for Approved Child Day Camp Owners, Administrators and Child Day Camp Staff Members  

This ODJFS created training must be completed by all child day camp owners prior to applying for an approved child day camp and by all child day camp administrators and staff members (both lead and junior counselors). The training must be completed within 30 days of starting employment at the day camp. This is the only training that can be taken to meet the day camp requirements for completion of the staff orientation. The training covers the following topics: active supervision of campers; emergencies and evacuations; routines and responsibilities; child abuse reporting and child management techniques; medication policies; field/routine trip safety; parent information; and approval rules and laws.  

ODJFS Child Abuse One Hour Overview     

This training must be completed every two years by all child care center and family child care staff members (including substitutes) unless the individual is current in the child abuse recognition and prevention six-hour initial or three-hour refresher. This training must be completed every two years by approved day camp administrators and staff members. This is the only training that can be taken to meet the requirements for completion of the one-hour child abuse training. The training covers the following topics: definitions; indicators; legal considerations; and prevention of child abuse.  

ODJFS Child Care Transportation Training  

This ODJFS training must be completed by any child care center and family child care employee who transports children. This training must be completed annually for child care center employees. This is the only training that can be taken to meet the requirements for completion of transportation training. The training covers the following topics: transportation rules; weekly inspection of vehicles; preparing to transport; child safety restraints; loading and unloading children; evacuation procedures; safety reminders; behavior management; moderate and serious risk non-compliances; required and sample forms; and training requirements.  

Required Administrator Rules Training (Register in OPR for this in-person training.)  

Required training for new administrators of ODJFS licensed child care centers. This training is required within six months of their appointment and every five years thereafter. This training covers rules and regulations including serious risk non-compliance issues. It is an overview of all rules and licensing requirements. Systems and procedures will be reviewed to help achieve and maintain compliance and learn how to develop strategies and systems for effectively implementing licensing rules. At the end of the training, the provider will have the necessary information to be compliant with licensing rules and inspections. Each training session is scheduled for eight hours, which includes a lunch break. Administrators must attend the entire session to successfully fulfill the rule requirement and to receive credit for attending. Trainings are held throughout the state, specific locations, dates/times, and details are outlined on OCCRRA. Due to capacity issues, these trainings are intended only for administrators named on the ODJFS license.    

The following training is not available through the OPR.    

Communicable Disease Training  

This training is available to meet the Communicable Disease training requirements.  

Click here for more information on Communicable Disease Training.     

At-a-Glance: Training requirements and approved organizations for First Aid, CPR, and Communicable Disease.